Wyoming requires that individuals seeking to become certified public accountants be at least 18 years old and hold a bachelor’s degree. The state does not require that individuals be a U.S. citizen but does require that they be a resident of Wyoming. Applicants must also have a valid Social Security number. Individuals who meet these qualifications can take the first step to getting licensed by taking the Uniform CPA Examination.
Step 1: CPA exam in Wyoming
Sitting for the CPA exam in Wyoming requires that candidates hold a bachelor’s degree and have 150 hours of education, which includes coursework in accounting and other business-related courses.
Education requirements in Wyoming
Applicants possessing a bachelor’s degree that was earned prior to Jan. 1, 2012, must hold a bachelor’s degree or have 150 hours. Those receiving degrees after Jan. 1, 2012, must have 150 hours in addition to a bachelor’s degree. Educational requirements must be completed no later than 90 days after the date the candidate took the first exam section.
The coursework includes:
- 24 hours in upper-division accounting
- 24 hours in business courses
Application and test fees
The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) administers the exam. Applicants must arrange to have their educational transcripts sent to NASBA, showing proof of a bachelor’s degree from an accredited school and the required 150 education hours, if applicable.
The process to apply for the CPA exam starts with requesting and receiving authorization to take the test, followed by acknowledgement from the state and official notice to schedule (NTS) the exam. Once this process is completed, applicants can select a date to take the CPA exam. The NTS expires in six months, after which candidates must submit a new application. The computer-based exam is available during the months of March, June, July, August, October and November.
State law requires that first-time applicants submit a $110 processing fee. Those who are retaking the exam are required to pay a $50 fee. An additional fee of $67.50 will be assessed to applicants who do not authorize the release of their personal information to the national candidate database.
In addition to the state’s application fee, there are substantial administrative costs that must be paid in advance to NASBA.
The Uniform CPA Examination comprises four sections:
- Auditing and Attestation
- Financial Accounting and Reporting
- Business Environment and Concepts
Each section of the exam has a specified administration fee. Applicants may take one or more of the four required sections at a time. In addition to the administration fee for each section, CPA exam applicants are charged a separate fee for each testing session they take.
Taking, passing and retaking the CPA exam
The passing score for each of the four exam sections is 75. Applicants may take the sections individually and in any order, but are required to pass all four within a rolling 18-month period, which begins on the date the first examination section passed was taken.
Credit for any section passed shall be valid for 18 months from the actual date the examination section was taken. Examination credits expire by section, and applicants will lose credit for each section passed outside of the 18-month period.
Step 2: CPA license in Wyoming
After successfully passing all four sections of the exam, applicants may then apply to become a certified public accountant in Wyoming. Applicants must submit a licensure application in Wyoming along with a $200 application fee.
In addition to passing the CPA exam, applicants must take and pass the AICPA Ethics Examination. Official verification, mailed directly from the AICPA, showing that the applicant passed the exam with a score of 90 or higher is required.
Work experience in Wyoming
Applicants must have one year of experience in public accounting. All public accounting experience shall be gained through employment in government, industry, academia or the practice of public accounting.
Out-of-state CPA licenses
Wyoming allows CPAs in good standing and licensed in other states or U.S. jurisdictions to practice in the state as long as the issuing state has been verified to be substantially equivalent to the NASBA’s Qualification Appraisal. Applicants must also pass the ethics exam. Wyoming also recognizes individuals who hold foreign CPA certificates of licensure, provided they meet the requirements of Wyoming’s State Board of Public Accountancy.
Disclaimer: Requirements for Wyoming CPA test-takers and license applicants are subject to change. Visit the state’s Board of Public Accountancy website to check for recent revisions to Wyoming’s CPA requirements.
Tags: AccountingLearn More: Click to view related resources.