Oklahoma requires that individuals seeking to become certified public accountants hold a bachelor’s degree. The state has no minimum age requirement and does not require that individuals be a U.S. citizen. However, applicants must be a resident of Oklahoma and have a valid Social Security number. Individuals who meet these qualifications can take the first step to getting licensed by taking the Uniform CPA Examination.
Step 1: CPA exam in Oklahoma
Sitting for the CPA exam in Oklahoma requires that candidates possess a bachelor’s degree or higher, which includes coursework in accounting and general business courses.
Applicants must possess a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university and 150 hours of education.
The coursework includes:
- 76 semester hours of upper-division courses
- 30 semester hours of accounting course credits above principles of accounting or introductory accounting, including:
- 1 course in auditing or assurance
- 9 semester hours of upper-division courses in the following:
- economics, statistics, finance, business management, marketing, business law, business communication, risk management, insurance, financial information systems and computer science
Application and test fees in Oklahoma
The Oklahoma Accountancy Board (OAB) administers the exam. Applicants must arrange to have their educational transcripts sent to OAB, showing proof of a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited school and 150 hours of education. Applicants are also required to submit a 2-inch by 2-inch photo.
The process to apply for the CPA exam starts with requesting and receiving authorization to take the test, followed by acknowledgement from the state and official notice to schedule (NTS) the exam. Once this process is completed, applicants can select a date to take the CPA exam. The NTS expires in six months, after which candidates must submit a new application. The exam is given the first two months of each calendar quarter.
State law requires that first-time applicants submit an application fee of $50 plus exam fees. Those who are retaking the exam are required to pay the same fees.
The Uniform CPA Examination comprises four sections:
- Auditing and Attestation
- Financial Accounting and Reporting
- Business Environment and Concepts
Each section of the exam has a specified administration fee. Applicants may take one or more of the four required sections at a time. In addition to the administration fee for each section, CPA exam applicants are charged a separate fee for each testing session they take.
Taking, passing and retaking the CPA exam
The passing score for each of the four exam sections is 75. Applicants may take the sections individually and in any order, but are required to pass all four within a rolling 18-month period, which begins on the date the first examination section passed was taken.
Credit for any section passed shall be valid for 18 months from the actual date the examination section was taken. Examination credits expire by section, and applicants will lose credit for each section passed outside of the 18-month period.
Step 2: CPA license in Oklahoma
Oklahoma is a two-tier state that provides a certificate first and CPA licensing after work experience and continuing professional education (CPE) is completed. After successfully passing all four sections of the exam and the ethics exam, applicants must then complete the required work experience. After the work experience is obtained and verified, the board will send an Application for Certification to the applicant. Applicants must return the application to Oklahoma Accountancy Board along with the appropriate fee.
Once individuals receive a certificate, they must complete 40 hours of CPE before an official permit to work is issued. If desired, individuals can apply for a 60-day interim permit, which allows them to practice for 60 days while earning the CPE credits. The fee for the interim permit is $100.
Once individuals complete the CPE requirements, they can apply for a Permit to Work, which gives them full practicing rights. Applicants should submit a Permit to Work application to Oklahoma along with a fee of $100.
Ethics exam in Oklahoma
In addition to passing the CPA exam, applicants must take the AICPA Ethics Examination. Official verification, mailed directly from the AICPA, showing that the applicant passed the exam with a score of 90 or higher is required. The ethics exam must be passed within one year prior to applying for a permit to practice. The ethics exam can be counted as part of the CPE requirements for obtaining a work permit.
Education in Oklahoma
A bachelor’s degree and 150 hours of education are required for a certificate. An additional 40 hours of CPE credits are required for full practicing rights.
Work experience in Oklahoma
One year, or 1,800 hours, of work experience in accounting is required for certification. Work must be completed within four years prior to applying for certification and must be verified by a licensed CPA.
Out-of-state CPA licenses
Oklahoma allows CPAs in good standing and licensed in other states or U.S. jurisdictions to practice in the state as long as the issuing state has been verified to be substantially equivalent to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy’s Qualification Appraisal. Oklahoma also recognizes individuals who hold foreign CPA certificates of licensure, provided they meet the requirement of the Oklahoma Accountancy Board and notify the board.
Disclaimer: Requirements for Oklahoma CPA test-takers and license applicants are subject to change. Visit the state’s accountancy board website to check for recent revisions to Oklahoma’s CPA requirements.
Tags: AccountingLearn More: Click to view related resources.