Indiana CPA License Requirements and Exams

Indiana requires that individuals seeking to become certified public accountants hold a bachelor’s degree and be at least 18 years old. Applicants do not have to be a U.S. citizen or a resident of Indiana. However, applicants must have a valid Social Security number. Individuals who meet these qualifications can take the first step to getting licensed by taking the Uniform CPA Examination.

Step 1: CPA exam in Indiana

Sitting for the CPA exam in Indiana requires that candidates hold a bachelor’s degree or higher and have 150 hours of credit, which includes coursework in accounting and business.

Education requirements

Applicants must possess a bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited college or university and have 150 credit hours.

The coursework includes:

  • Bachelor’s degree in general education with a minimum of
    • 24 semester hours in accounting at the undergraduate or graduate level, including:
      • financial accounting
      • auditing
      • taxation
      • managerial accounting
    • 24 semester hours in business administration and economics courses, including:
      • 6 semester hours of business and tax law courses
      • 6 semester hours of computer science courses
  • Graduate degree in general education, including:
    • 24 semester hours in accounting at the undergraduate level, 15 semester hours at the graduate level or an equivalent combination, which includes:
      • financial accounting
      • auditing
      • taxation
      • managerial accounting
    • 24 semester hours in business administration and economics courses, at the undergraduate or graduate level, which may include:
      • 6 semester hours of business and tax law courses
      • 6 semester hours of computer science courses

Application and test fees

The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) administers the exam. Applicants must arrange to have their educational transcripts sent to NASBA, showing proof of a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited school.

The process to apply for the CPA exam starts with requesting and receiving authorization to take the test, followed by acknowledgement from the state and official notice to schedule (NTS) the exam. Once this process is completed, applicants can select a date to take the CPA exam. The NTS expires in six months, after which candidates must submit a new application. The exam is available the first two months of each calendar quarter.

State law requires that first-time applicants submit a $150 application fee plus exam fees. Those who are retaking the exam are also required to pay a registration fee in addition to exam fees. Registration fees are $110 for four sections, $95 for three sections, $85 for two sections and $70 for one section.

In addition to the state’s application fee, there are substantial administrative costs that must be paid in advance to the NASBA.

The Uniform CPA Examination comprises four sections:

  • Auditing and Attestation
  • Financial Accounting and Reporting
  • Regulation
  • Business Environment and Concepts

Each section of the exam has a specified administration fee. Applicants may take one or more of the four required sections at a time. In addition to the administration fee for each section, CPA exam applicants are charged a separate fee for each testing session they take.

Taking, passing and retaking the CPA exam

The passing score for each of the four exam sections is 75. Applicants may take the sections individually and in any order, but are required to pass all four within a rolling 18-month period, which begins on the date the first examination section passed was taken.

Credit for any section passed shall be valid for 18 months from the actual date the examination section was taken. Examination credits expire by section, and applicants will lose credit for each section passed outside of the 18-month period.

Step 2: CPA license in Indiana

After successfully passing all four sections of the exam and obtaining 150 hours of education, applicants may then apply to become a certified public accountant in Indiana. Applicants must submit a licensure application to Indiana along with a $35 fee.


Candidates are required to have a bachelor’s degree or higher and 150 hours of education.

Work experience

Two years of work experience is required for licensing and can be obtained in government, industry, academia or public practice. Applicants do not have to work under a licensed CPA, but a licensed CPA must verify the work experience.

Out-of-state CPA licenses

Indiana allows CPAs in good standing and licensed in other states or U.S. jurisdictions to practice in the state as long as the issuing state has been verified to be substantially equivalent to the NASBA’s Qualification Appraisal. Qualifying CPAs must still submit an application with a $75 fee.

The state does not recognize California, Colorado, New Hampshire, Vermont or the Virgin Islands to be substantially equivalent. However, CPAs from these states can practice in Indiana after submitting an application proving they meet the experience requirement and pay a $75 fee. Non-substantial CPAs must also complete continuing education requirements in some cases.

Indiana recognizes individuals who hold foreign CPA certificates of licensure, provided they meet the requirements of Indiana State Board of Public Accountancy, complete an application and submit a fee.

Disclaimer: Requirements for Indiana CPA test-takers and license applicants are subject to change. Visit the state’s Board of Public Accountancy website to check for recent revisions to Indiana’s CPA requirements.


Learn More: Click to view related resources.
Share on Pinterest
There are no images.


It only takes a minute...

Please correct highlighted fields...

You're almost done...

Please correct highlighted fields...

The last step...

Please correct highlighted fields...
Yes! By submitting this form I ask to receive email, texts and calls about degree programs on behalf of Concordia College–New York, and agree automated technology may be used to dial the number(s) I provided. I understand this consent is not required to enroll.